Pinterest Fail: DIY Workout T-Shirt

Standard
Pinterest Fail: DIY Workout T-Shirt

I know what you’re thinking because I’m thinking the same thing. How did I screw up a T-shirt? Well it happened, and unfortunately the T-shirt didn’t make it.

I saw some cute cut up T-shirt ideas on Pinterest that I wanted to try, so I bought a few shirts from the thrift store. I wanted to cut them up and wear them as workout clothes. I thought it was a solid plan until I actually tried to mimic this Pin in particular. It looked simple enough, but this post is titled Pinterest Fail, so obviously I screwed something up.

Let’s take a look to see what I accomplished…or didn’t accomplish. Watch closely and learn from my mistakes!

Materials: T-shirt, scissors and faith

The last picture of the T-shirt before it became a victim of a Pinterest fail. R.I.P. little buddy.

The last picture of the T-shirt before it became a victim of a Pinterest fail. R.I.P. little buddy.

I began by cutting off the sleeves and the neckline area.

Based off of the pictures from the Pin I was going off of, I cut out a V-shape on the back of the shirt. This part may have been the part I messed up. Who knows. Let’s be honest, this shirt was doomed from the beginning.

The next part, I stopped referring to the original Pin, and I started winging it. I didnt’ know it at the time, but it was destined to not work out. So naturally, I took one of the T-shirt scraps (the bottom part of the shirt…probably called a hem…I don’t know at this point), and I weaved it through the straps on the back like this:

T-Shirt

After that, I tied a simple knot like photo below.

From there I started wrapping the hem strand up the strap part. I don’t really know how to describe it any better, so here’s a picture of what mine looked like.

I finally got everything tied together, and I had high hopes for the results. I was so excited because 1) I really looked forward to wearing this and 2) I absolutely love the color. I immediately tried my creation on and sadly, my results were anything but great.

Looking back, I’m pretty sure when I made a V shape on the back of the shirt, I was probably supposed to cut out only the back part. I’m not sure. If you get anything out of this post, just know that whatever mistake I did, don’t repeat it. Will I ever attempt to cut a T-shirt again? Probably, it won’t be the same way though. If you try this out, good luck!


Leave a Reply

